2019 President Matthew Johns


Matthew Johns Installed as 63rd President of

The Home Builders Association of Greater Savannah


Matthew Johns, Owner of Matthew Johns Construction was recently installed as the 63rd President of the Home Builders Association of Greater Savannah (HBA). Johns was installed by Lamar Smith of Lamar Smith Homes. The ceremony took place at the Savannah Marriott Riverfront with more than 250 members, family and friends present.

Born and raised in Savannah, Johns is a second-generation builder who is a graduate of the University of Georgia with degrees in Finance and Risk Management & Insurance. He has been involved with the HBA for many years where he has served in various leadership roles.   

Johns resides in Savannah with his wife, Christy, and their sons, Connor and Jackson. 

Other Officers installed at the annual event were Robert Flanders of Horizon Home Builders as Vice President; Matt Byrd of Matt Byrd New Homes as Treasurer; Scott Hayman of Dream Finders Homes as Secretary; Mandy Grubbs of Atlanta Gas Light as Associate Vice President; and Sheila Doney of Re/Max Accent as Chairman of the Sales & Marketing Council.

Board Members for the Greater Savannah HBA and Sales & Marketing Council were also installed at the event.

The Builder Member of the Year Award was presented to Robert Flanders of Horizon Home Builders for his outstanding dedication to the HBA. Presidential Awards were presented to Tracey Burdette, Matt Byrd, Walter Corish, Robert Flanders, Bill Glass, Matthew Johns, Bill Shearouse, Lamar Smith, Kyle Whitty and Candler Wilson by the 2018 President, Fred Bricketto. Rodney Rawls of Rawls Realty was recognized as the Sales & Marketing Council Member of the Year and Kyle Whitty of 2-10 Home Buyers Warranty was awarded the Woody Woodward Memorial Award which recognizes outstanding contributions by an Associate member. 


2019 HBA Officers 

President: Matthew Johns | Vice President: Robert Flanders | Treasurer: Matt Byrd  | Secretary: Scott Hayman  | Associate Vice President: Mandy Grubbs | Sales and Marketing Council Chairman: Sheila Doney | Executive Officer: Patty Rietkovich | Immediate Past President: Fred Bricketto


2019 Board of Directors

President Matthew Johns
Vice-President Robert Flanders
Treasurer Matt Byrd
Secretary Scott Hayman
Associate Vice President Mandy Grubbs
National Director Beth Williams Holley
National Director Mark Konter
National Director Candler Wilson
National Director Lamar Smith
Life National Director Ed Feiler 
Senior Life Director Jerry Konter
State Director Matthew Johns
State Director Robert Flanders
State Director Matt Byrd
State Director Scott Hayman
Alternate State Director Kevin Kirsch
Alternate State Director Fred Buck
Alternate State Director John Sumner
Alternate State Director Corde Wilson
Alternate State Director Beth Williams Holley
Alternate State Director Joe Marshall
Alternate State Director Mark Bouy
Alternate State Director Candler Wilson
Alternate State Director Greg Hardigree
Alternate State Director Mark Konter
Alternate State Director Scott Hayman
Alternate State Director Mitch Mock
Alternate State Director Mike Ryan
Alternate State Director Steven Smith
Alternate State Director Trey Young
Alternate State Director Corbin Wardlaw
Alternate State Director Bryan Wardlaw
Local Alternate Director Andy Davis
Local Alternate Director Jack Wardlaw
Local Alternate Director Stephen Remler
Local Alternate Director Steve Hall
Local Alternate Director Jerry Wardlaw
Associate Director Rob Brannen
Associate Director Kyle Whitty
Associate Director Terri Sherman
Associate Director Jeff Morton
Associate Director Tanya Milton
Associate Director Michael Lamb
Associate Director Rodney Rawls
Associate Director Tracey Burdette
Associate Director Shelia Doney
Associate Director Joe Inman
Associate Director Carla Estep
Associate Director Matt Toler
Associate Director Carol Stone
Associate Director Byron Loomis
Associate Director Hal Baird
Associate Director Nikki Pettit
Associate Director Jon Dasher
Associate Director Bill Shearouse
Associate Director Torrey Gray
Associate Director Lisa Shuman
Local Alternate Director Josh Walker
Local Alternate Director Terry Coleman
Local Director Byron Loomis
Immediate Past President Fred Bricketto
Legal Counsel Bill Glass
CPA Advisor Dan Mohawold
HBAG B-PAC Trustee Mark Konter
Insurance Representative Walter Corish
Sales & Marketing Chairman Sheila Doney